Day 1: A Letter To Your Best Friend

Dear Best Friend,

Its funny how fate has a way of bring us together. Despite everything that we have gone through, either individually or together, we always knew we had each others’ backs. When we were kids we used to play kick ball ! Remember that ? Or all of the dances we had to dress up for and do at school. HA ! I think my favorite one was when I dressed up like one of the girls from the movie Grease. Oh ! remember how we used to bond so much when it was MLB season ? You, me, and Mrs. Resnick. We used to go to her classroom and watch the games during lunch. I remember she went to New York and brought us back a bunch of pictures of the old stadium. We sat in her classroom and she would tell us stories about it all. Great times.

Then for some reason we got separated. I moved schools. I felt like I had lost my best friend. We were young and technology wasn’t as advanced as it is now. Not every kid had a phone. We lost touch. Stopped talking. I had to start over at a new school. I made new friends, claimed to have a best friend, which I probably did, but no one was ever my true best friend like you were. But there was nothing I could’ve done at the time. So I moved on as did you. I had my own life now. Became a different person. Started to enjoy life. Excited about the new start, new school, new house.

But like I said before, fate has a funny way of bringing people together. Who would’ve thought that you and I would’ve ended up in the same middle school. I used to live in LA, went to school there but then I moved to Culver City. Who knew you did the same thing ? But years had passed. I didn’t know whether we would still have that same closeness. And at first we didn’t. We knew we recognized each other and knew who we were but things had changed. You had your own life already, had made new friends, did your own thing. So did I. We talked but it was just friendly conversation, nothing like how we used to talk. But that’s ok ! I wasn’t mad, nor were you. The more we talked the closer we got and finally in high school be became best friends again. Closer than we ever were. We understood the meaning of friendship. Understood what it entitled now. You were there for me through my toughest moments.

I still remember the day I told you about that incident that happened outside of Cubby’s. How angry you got when I told you what happened and yelled at me for not having told you before. How scared I was when I noticed it still continued. You were always the one person I ran to. You knew what to say, what to do to calm me down. Told me that I had nothing to worry about as long as you were there. I trusted you then as I do now despite what is going on between us.

Yes I am hurting over what’s going on but that’s ok. We have hurt each other before, intentionally or unintentionally. It happens. It’s part of that famous circle of life that everyone talks about. But deep down in my heart I know we’ll get through this, just like we’ve got through everything else.

I miss you. The fact that you are so far away scares me. Who will I go to now that you’re gone? You told me my truths, rather bluntly I might add, but you NEVER lied to me. What we’re going through now is tough. I don’t even know if you know how hurt I am but despite it all I still trust you. You have yet to lie to me. Yes you filled me with false hope but that’s still not a lie. I can’t stay mad at you. I never was able to and I especially can’t now.

How could I stay mad at my best friend ? Especially now that you’ll be in such danger. I pray and worry about you every single day. It scares me that there’s a chance that come next year I could lose you. You’re going to be out there defending this country, doing what you love. I am incredibly proud of you. It takes a lot to do what you did. Your mom and sister are so proud of you. Your dad would’ve been so proud.

Just remember that promise you made. You promised that you were going to come back home to protect your sister, to help your mom, to have laughs with all of your friends, and to continue this beautiful friendship that still stands strong.

Don’t ever forget I am here for you. No matter what. No matter where we are. I am always here for you. I miss you and love you with all of my heart.

I’ll see you soon.

Love,

Your BFGFF

~the real journey begins

About pensivenightowl

A recent college graduate, I am now figuring out what it's really like to be an adult. I am starting my new journey doing what I love to do most. Time to live !
This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

