Starting a new you !

This past May, I graduated from college. Woohoo !! Fantastic !! What an accomplishment. That’s great and all but… now what ? Isn’t that the big question ? What do you do once you’ve graduated? Well it’s something that I am trying to figure out now. Here are some things that normally go through my mind when I think of such an intense, life changing topic.

Do I continue with school?

Well there’s a loaded question now isn’t it. All my life I assumed I would graduate from high school, go to college and get my BA, get my MA and eventually my PhD. But now that I’ve finally gotten my BA I am rethinking everything. The older I get (and I’m not that old) the more I think about what’s important. Now do not misinterpret me please. By no means am I saying that furthering your education is bad. I am simply stating that sometimes continuing your scholastic career may not be for you or it may be something you want to put on pause. Maybe now you have other things on mind like getting a decent or great job, meeting someone special to start a family with or simple enjoy life and travel and finally doing the things you always wanted to do while you were in school. There is nothing wrong with that !

Is it ok to be thinking about settling down and starting a family?

There are people out there that start having a family more around their 30s. But there are others that want a family at a younger age. I feel like that’s perfectly fine. Coming from a family with young parents, I sometimes feel like that’s the way to go. Now don’t get me wrong, I do not approve of children having children (i.e. high schoolers getting pregnant) but you know starting in your mid 20s. I feel like you have more of an opportunity to enjoy a great variety of activities with your children. But like I said, it’s not for everyone. Some prefer to wait a little longer and that is perfectly fine. Just some thoughts.

What the heck does it mean to be an adult?

It’s funny how in high school we assumed that the moment you turn 18 we’re adults. Legally perhaps yes, but being an adult has nothing to do with age. I am 23 years old and live at home with my parents and I am barely now starting to get to know what it means to be an adult. Being an adult means knowing what it is like to have actual responsibilities. That can encompass financial situation, being in charge of someone else or something of value, and taking in life’s tough situations with grace and maturity.

Those are only a few of the things that go through my mind on a daily basis now that I am beginning this new chapter in my life. It is exciting to be going through all of these different transitions now. It is the journey that I have been waiting for my whole life. We shall see how it goes.

~the real journey begins

About pensivenightowl

A recent college graduate, I am now figuring out what it's really like to be an adult. I am starting my new journey doing what I love to do most. Time to live !
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

