The Mortal Instrument: City of Bones (movie)

Image

This is the next big thing ! As my brother put it, Harry Potter is done. Twilight is done. This is bound to be the next big series that people all around the world should fall in love with. It has a little bit of everything- sorcerers, vampire and werewolves, humans (mundanes), demons, Shadowhunters (half angels half humans), and other supernatural creatures. It has an eclectic category of characters, of supernatural beings. Aside from the creatures themselves, this movie has comedy, a love story, mysterious characters, plot twists, and it is full of action and adventure.

This movie is based on the book “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones” by Cassandra Clare. The great thing about this movie is that they followed the book very closely. There were, of course, minor changes in the movie and things left out (I mean come on, you can’t expect it to be exactly the same) but the overall plot and the essence of the characters were captured accurately. You will fall in love with the characters you are meant to fall in love with and you will hate the characters you are meant to hate.

The movie captured my attention from the vey beginning just like the book did. I am an avid reader and am very critical about books being turned into films. I always fear that the characters will not be portrayed as I envision, as many envision. All of the action and adventure, in my opinion, is easier to capture on film. The hardest part is truly capturing how the character is supposed to react, how they are supposed to act and feel and live. I truly believe that the characters were, in fact, portrayed as closely as i envisioned they would be. The cast was wisely chosen and the stories within the novel were greatly developed.

I definitely recommend this movie so much so that I want to go see it again and again and again. I cannot wait until the second movie comes out !

~ the real journey begins

About pensivenightowl

A recent college graduate, I am now figuring out what it's really like to be an adult. I am starting my new journey doing what I love to do most. Time to live !
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Mortal Instrument: City of Bones (movie)

  1. Pingback: Movie Spotlight: The Mortal Instruments:City of Bones | Besos♥

  2. Cool! I haven’t seen it yet, so it’s really good to hear it’s like the book! I always get a bit afraid beforehand that book film’s won’t match up to the source!

Leave a Reply

