BIG changes!

Hey y’all! 

I know I know it’s been quite a while since I last wrote! I think the last time I wrote was in February… 6 FRIGGIN MONTHS!! Not cool I know and I do apologize but I’ve actually had a lot going on… sort of lol. 

So on to the the big news.. I GOT A JOB!! Don’t get me wrong, I loooooved my old job. I mean who wouldn’t love working at the bookstore, an independent bookstore right by the beach with the coolest boss ever?! But it was time for me to put my big girl pants on and find a job that has benefits and all that and guess what? I FOUND ONE!! I now work for Marriott. It has officially been 3 months since I started working there. It’s crazy how different it is to what I was used to. I mean it’s even completely different than the internships I had when I was in school! But it’s been fantastic! I love it there and my coworkers are great! Even my managers are great! I got lucky truth be told. I was part of the opening committee for this new Marriott in downtown. I am a Guest Service Representative (which basically translates to being front desk among other things). It’s a great mix of meeting new people and doing paperwork. It’s funny because one of my coworkers asked why I loved doing paperwork so much. I just do! It keeps me busy and sane. I guess part of me can’t let go of deadlines and paperwork. Honestly, I love this new job. I finally feel like I’m stepping into adulthood. This job has a 401K and benefits such as health insurance, life insurance etc. It feels amazing to know that I pretty much have a career for the rest of my life if I continue to work hard and do well. 

Back in February I talked about how difficult it has been adjusting to life without school. It continues to be a struggle, perhaps not a huge struggle like it was at first, but definitely an adjustment. Grad school is still on my mind. At this moment in my life I don’t want to go to grad school. The idea of being in debt for practically the rest of my life is daunting and truth be told i want to continue living my life! As much as i love school, at this particular moment I’m ok without it. The great thing about working for Marriott is the discounts I can get when I travel. Now that I finally started to accumulate vacation days, I’m excited to start planning these trips that I have been dying to do! The harder I work the more realistic these trips seem to be. Hopefully during these trips i’ll finally find the place i want to live. As much as i love California, and i do i really do love it, and it’ll always be home, I just can’t see myself living here for the rest of my life. I need a quieter life. I want to live in a small town where nature surrounds us and the community is familial. i want to live at a spot where i get to experience all four seasons! It’s funny how we always want things that we don’t have or can’t have. The great thing working for Marriott is that I can always get transferred to a different one at a different state! We’ll see how things pan out. 

As far as the rest of my life goes nothing has really changed. I still live with my parents which I’m trying to change. I love my family very much and do not have any issues with them but at this point in my life I feel like my next step is getting a place of my own. The way i see it is this: I graduated high school with honors, I got my BA with honors, and now i have a great “adult” type job with benefits and a decent pay. I feel like the next step in my life is to save up and find a place of my own. I would rather live by myself but rent in Los Angeles is hard enough as it is with a roommate, i don’t even want to fathom what it would be like by myself. My goal is to move out before my 25th birthday (which is next year people!!). For now I’m saving as much as I can and I’m starting to buy things that I will need at my new place. I’m keeping an eye out for a decent place for now and daydreaming of the day I move out.

~the real journey begins  

About pensivenightowl

A recent college graduate, I am now figuring out what it's really like to be an adult. I am starting my new journey doing what I love to do most. Time to live !
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

